Model Talk: Carol

At first, we didn’t think she was Indian. Wearing a short mustard dress with purple leggings, she came in to our studio today. A little shy, the Nagaland born model is all smiles as she tells us a little bit about herself, her style and her Bollywood debut.

Q. Did you always want to be a model?
A. I’ve been modeling for about three years now. I started when I came to Delhi for my bachelors. As a child, I wanted to become a doctor.

Q. Tell us about your style.
A. Effortless and feminine.

Q. What would we find you wearing when you’re not modeling?
A. A plain white tee and blue jeans.

Q. How is it for someone like you, with Asian features, to be modeling in mainstream Indian Fashion?
A. The market in India is such that they mostly look for Indian or foreign features. But that’s changing slowly. It hasn’t been easy for me but it’s been a good experience.

Q. As a model, do you pout or smile?
A. Well, I prefer a very relaxed look. I like it when it’s spontaneous and natural.

Q. And, you’re acting in Bollywood?
A. (laughs) Yes, the film’s called Kya Super Kool Hain Hum. I’m basically playing the role of a Japanese girlfriend.

Q. Heels or flats?
A. Flats, I think. I don’t really like wearing heels but I have to when I’m modeling.

Q. Last song you heard on your iPod?
A. Cool by Gwen Stefani.

Q. What’s your idea of the ideal date?
A. (giggles) I’ll think about it and tell you later.

– SB

Leave a Reply

